Match Review - 2019 Siege At Clark's Station

08/12/2019

As I awoke to a fog covered cowboy town, it hit me. Today is a day for a Gun FIGHT!

The Butterfield Gulch Gang sure know how to setup a match. I attended the 2019 Siege At Clark's Station in the first part of May (I know this blog is well overdue). 

Their range is located near Chapman Kansas on a wonderful piece of land within a calming flat pasture. All aspects of the event were setup perfectly from the stages, camping, hosts, and other accommodations.

I cannot say enough good things about the stages from a shooters perspective. The stages were all setup along the same firing line. They consisted of well built building fronts adding to the old west cowboy town ambience. The shooters area of movement was covered nicely for comfort from the elements. There were even long runs of rubber matting on the ground to provide comfort while moving and prevented tripping. The targets were very nicely arranged and varied in complexity. They included typical and atypical sweeps to keep the course interesting. I thoroughly enjoyed the moving targets and the vertically stacked targets. I brought the ideas back to our home range. Thanks guys!

The long range course was better than many of the matches I have been to. The buffalo hunt range was approximately 400 yards. Side note, it was at this event that my wife Lightn'n Liz realized she loved shooting long range! A special thanks to JW!  Now we are adding long range guns to our arsenal! 

The camping was setup in a very nice section of the pasture adjacent to the range. The camping and RV parking as usual was dry camping. It was very peacefully tucked along a small creek. It was very relaxing after a long day of shooting! The area was mowed nicely. The area was also within sight lines and close proximity to the range for convenient walking and transporting equipment.   

The hosts of this match were/are very welcoming. I was greeted like an old friend from everyone I met. They were all excited to show me around the course and tell me about the club. A special thanks to Flinthills Dawg, Bulldog Brown, JW, and Kansas Flat Lander for making this long weekend one to remember and brag about! 

Another note specifically for this match is it was a gathering of Classic Cowboys. This is the main reason I went down there. Major Art Tillery, Dantankerous, Hillbilly Drifter and the gang did a wonderful, wonderful job putting this together. If memory serves me right, there were about 26'ish Classic Cowboys. This was awesome! I enjoyed meeting all the CC's out there and hope to see them again soon. 

After the match it was a short 13 hour drive home! A day or two later something unexpected showed up in the mail. A thank you note with a poker chip commemorating the match. A very cool souvenir!  

I cannot say enough goods things about this match overall. It was well worth the drive from Minnesota down to Kansas. I recommend this match and  plan on attending it again in the future.

I give it 5 out of 5 bullets! 

Thank you Butterfield Gulch Gang

Hillbilly Bert


  


Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started