Product Review - Bunkhouse Leather Classic Cowboy Rig 

06/04/2019

The cowboy's rig is to a cowboy as peanut butter is to jelly; well, at least for me. 

First off, I do want to state out right that Logos Leather does support Coach Gun Cowboys. You can find a link to their website via our supports page. From time to time we may also feature their products on our website. Logos Leather and I have teamed up to create leather competition rigs specifically for classic cowboy competition. Below are my opinions and observations after a handful of matches including the 2019 Classic Cowboy Nationals during Butterfield Gulch Gang's "Siege At Clark's Station". This match was in May of 2019. A review of this event is forthcoming.  

The rig reviewed in this journal entry is a prototype. This project is in process and will be fine tuned throughout the summer of 2019. The product line that is being created is called "Bunkhouse Leather". The concept is based on the working cowboy with a dash of charm from Dodge City.  

Why? 

Well, first off the classic cowboy category does not allow drop holsters. Meaning part of the grip of the gun has to be above the gun belt. The lower position of the grips (about mid thigh for me) increases draw speed from the holsters. For the last few seasons I was wearing a standard gun belt and double strong side rig with gun belt suspenders. I needed the suspenders to drop the entire rig that low. This was bulky and not preferred. After months of searching for a solution none were apparent besides a custom rig. Logos Leather and I were talking at Gun Smoke last year, one thing led to another and today we have a cool prototype! 

What? 

The rig features a contoured gun belt, double strong side metal insert holsters with belt shelf, knife sheath, bullet pouch and a shotgun belt. The designs, colors and accessories are endless. The customer has many, many choices. For this first rig we (Logos Leather and I) chose plain aesthetics. 

The contoured gun belt is the real key. It drops the holsters close to where a typical drop holster would be located. All while complying with the classic cowboy regulations. The angle or "drop" of the gun belt is fit to the person's arm length and comfort. Too high on the body creates wrist problems, too low on the body creates issues with the gun belt staying securely on the body. Just for safety I had Logos add an extra security strap from my gun belt up to my shotgun belt; just in case! I did say this is a prototype right. The back of the belt is wider to help with weight distribution and security. I chose to get creative with mine and add some flair with the rear of the belt coming to a point. This is not needed. Over all the belt has worked wonderfully! It is much more comfortable and more functional then my old system. The one thing I may change in the future is trying a more aggressive angle of drop on the belt. TBD on that for the moment.

The holsters are typical competition style. They are cut nicely allowing my fingers to quickly slide around the trigger guard. The metal imbedded on both sides allows for a nice customizable fit. Metal work within holsters are typically only found in competition grade rigs. Some people find metal to be excessive and not worth the effort. So far I like it. The overall contouring of the holster provided no issues for me drawing nor holstering on the clock. Logos paid attention to detail to ensure there was contouring for the blade sight. Other holsters the front blade sight can get caught drawing or holstering. Both scenarios can lead to a dropped gun. The holster "shelf" is a piece of leather that helps to stabilize the holster with the gun belt. This is an upgrade feature that is not found on basic holsters. The holsters also have a double layer of leather for durability and smooth drawing/holstering. This is also an added feature for competition holsters compared to basic holsters. On the next set I may play with the angles of entry. Some wear and tear is providing some useful information regarding angle of entry. The mouth of my set could be widened just a bit. The other future improvement that will be made to the holsters is Chicago screws or some other method to secure the holsters to the gun belt once I find the exact placement. The shelf helps to reduce movement and push the grips out away from the body, but screws will ensure no movement.

The knife sheath is well built. Logos will custom make a sheath for your knife. My knife is extremely sharp. It was custom made for me by another supporter of Coach Gun Cowboys. Logos doubled up the leather to ensure the blade will not cut through the sheath. I made a mistake in my specifications to Logos, my knife should have been horizontal not vertical. A learning opportunity as I call it. Logos Leather has OUTSTANDING customer service they will adjust this the next time I see them. 

The bullet pouch as I call it, is a great place to keep spent rounds, screwdriver, pocket watch and any other accessories. Due to the angles in the gun belt, the logical place for me was in the front. It also helps to ensure my holsters stay at least two fists apart from each other (another SASS rule). The tooling and construction is wonderful (see below paragraph regarding overall quality).  One could have Logos Leather build a strap system to attach the pouch elsewhere on the belt. Your choice.

The shotgun belt is wonderfully constructed. It has two buckles to easily adjust for different sizes, outfits and adjustment of as some would say amount of "solid weight". It features two shotgun shells per holder. The number of shells the belt can hold is up to the customer. Some people also prefer the shot shells to be in individual holders versus in doubles. To each is their own.  

How?

The quality of Logos Leather work is great! They are not a shop that mass produces leather. Each piece is made with pride to the clients specifications. The stitching, color and grade of leather are all of high quality. Logos Leather is a true leather craftsmen. I have had other leather that fell apart after one season. The company did not stand behind their product. I chose to partner with Logos Leather because of  quality and customer service. Logos Leather stands behind their product, works with the client and produces beautiful work. The hand tooling on their leather is gorgeous! I expect my rig to last for many seasons.

Overall, the Bunkhouse Leather rig works perfectly for me. The angles on the gun belt place the grips of the gun right where I need them. The upgraded competition holsters provided for a secure hold AND smooth draw during competition. The beautiful accessories have accompanied the rig nicely. 

I am very happy with my Bunkhouse Leather Classic Cowboy rig custom made by Logos Leather. I recommend it and Logos Leather to any Classic Cowboy.

Cowboy Journal Entry by Hillbilly Bert. 

 

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started